Athletes awarded at annual banquet

-A A +A
By Jessica Veatch and Josh Veatch

Monday, Jan. 17, the Marion County Knights football team held their annual awards banquet at Marion County High School. Numerous players were recognized for their performances on the field during the season.
The players recognized are:  
All Heartland JV Conference 1st Team
Chris Gaither, Devin Spalding, Michael Walls, Peyton Simmons, Cameron Brown, and Vincent Collins

All District, Class 4A District 4:
• 1st team offense: Dylan Caldwell OG, Christian Peterson C
• 2nd team offense: Joseph Hazelwood TB and Jeremy Mattingly FB
• 1st team defense: Dylan Caldwell DT, Clayton Smith ILB, Austin Turner OLB, Joseph Hazelwood DB, and Cody Brahm DE
• 1st team special teams: John Southall K
• 2nd team special teams: Jordan Bell R
Other individual recognitions:
• Most Points: Joseph Hazelwood
• Most Yards rushing: Joseph Hazelwood
• Best OL: Dylan Caldwell
• Most receiving yards: Carlos Litsey
• Best average per carry: Jeremy Mattingly
• Best average per reception: Kendall Taul
• Most defensive points: Clayton Smith
• Most tackles: Clayton Smith
• Most interceptions: Austin Turner
• Most fumble recoveries: Cody Brahm
• Most sacks: Justin Price
• Most tackles for a loss: Jeremy Mattingly
• Scout team player of the year: Dereck Robey
• Most Improved: Austin Turner
• Offensive leadership: Ryan Peterson
• Defensive leadership: Clayton Smith
• Special teams leadership: Kendall Taul