Baseball and softball all-stars announced

-A A +A
By Josh Veatch

This summer, four Marion County All-Star baseball teams will eagerly represent Marion County in their quest for the state tournament in their respective age groups.

The first All-Star team is made up of 7 and 8-year-olds. The 12 players who make up this team include Parker Barnett, Brice Pirkle, Chase Miles, Tyler Abell, Tanner Roeder, Ethan Wood, Will Fowler, Joseph Cade Thompson, Cameron Martin, Jerry Tucker, Dominick White, and Tyval Furman.  Matt Thompson will be the team's manager.

There will also be a 9 and 10-year-old Marion County All-Star baseball team.  This team consists of 11 players including Owen Mattingly, Bryce Spalding, Travis Wiser, Bailey Gardner, Ashton Lanham, Davis Rafferty, Connor Cornish, Jacob Goodin, Austin Smith, Dawson McCarty, and Cameron Cox. The team's manager will be Daniel Wiser, and Kevin Gardner and Mitch Rafferty will be the team's assistant coaches.

The third team representing Marion County this summer is the 11-year-old All-Stars. This team features Jacob Spalding, Kelly Mattingly, Jaren Epps, Luke Thomas, Cameron Nalley, Trent Farmer, Ethan Spalding, Jacob Mattingly, Dylan Bradshaw, Jaron Morris, and Logan Peterson.  Marty Mattingly will be the team's manager, while Tim Peterson and Chad Spalding will hold assistant coaches' duties.

The final Marion County All-Star baseball team is the 11 and 12-year-olds. The ten players named to this team are: Brandon Lee, Logan Thompson, Cody Browning, Noah Dye, Bailey Edelen, Landon Russell, Cameron Goodin, Isaac Lanham, Aams Mattingly, and Keith Ballard. The team's manager will be Joey Goodin, and Chuck Dye and Neil Lanham will be the team's assistant coaches.


There will be two girls fastpitch All-Star teams representing Marion County this year.

The first Marion County All-Star team consists of a group of 9 and 10-year-olds.  They include Jaci Benningfield, Caroline Buckman, Kalei Cox, Mariella Curtis, Alice Farmer, Savannah Johnson, Cassidy Logsdon, Haley Mattingly, Abby Jo Maupin, Abby Scott, and Raley Jo Wright.  The team's manager will be Eric Scott, with Tim Wright and Bobby Johnson as assistant coaches.

Members of the 11 and 12-year-old MC All-Stars team consist of Allison Maupin, Kendall Benningfield, Kenlee Stout, Tori Rawlings, Caroline Reed, Kylie Benningfield, Morgan Mattingly, Jordan Thomas, Paige Dabney, Kelly Overstreet, and Jarie Newby. Jim Reed will be the team's manager, with Troy Overstreet and Jay Stout as assistant coaches. 

Their district tournaments will be played Saturday, June 25, in Springfield.  The 12U team will play at 2 p.m. and the 10U team will compete at 4 p.m. If the teams can win their respective district tournaments, then they would advance to state competition held by North Oldham Little League starting on July 9.