First candidate files for county judge

-A A +A
By Stephen Lega

Douglas Lee Mattingly is the first candidate to throw his hat in the ring in the 2014 race for Marion County judge/executive.
Candidates have until 4 p.m. Jan. 28 to file their nomination papers for the 2014 primary elections.
Here are the candidates who have filed so far, according the Kentucky Secretary of State’s website. An (I) indicates the candidate is an incumbent.

U.S. Senate
Republicans: Matt Bevin of Louisville, Gurley L. Martin of Owensboro and Mitch McConnell (I)
Democrats: Alison Lundergan Grimes and Tom Recktenwald of Louisville

U.S. Representative, First District
Republican: Ed Whitfield (I)

14th District State Senator
Republican: Jimmy Higdon (I) of Lebanon

24th District State Representative
Republican: Amber Rogers Dones of Hodgenville and Richard Treitz of Greensburg; Democrats: Terry Mills (I) of Lebanon
Voters may remember that the state legislature approved new districts last year. Under the new plan, the 24th District includes Marion, LaRue and Green counties.

Third District Court of Appeals, First Division
Michael O. Caperton (I) of London

Third District Court of Appeals, Second Division
James H. Lambert (I) of Mt. Vernon

11th Judicial District Circuit Court, First Division
Samuel Todd Spalding of Lebanon

11th Judicial District Circuit Court, Second Division
Allan Ray Bertram (I) of Campbellsville

11th Judicial District, District Court, First Division
Amy Sullivan Anderson (I) of Campbellsville

11th Judicial District, District Court, Second Division
Connie Sullivan Phillips (I) of Campellsville

Marion County Judge/Executive
Democrat: Douglas Lee Mattingly

Marion County Jailer
Democrat: Barry Brady (I)

Marion County Sheriff
Democrat: Jimmy Clements (I)
Marion County PVA
Democrat: Terry “Catfish” Rakes (I)

Marion County magistrate, first district
Democrats: Bobby A. Hardin Jr. and Jackie Wicker (I)

Marion County magistrate, second district
Democrat: Larry V. Caldwell (I)

Marion County magistrate, third district
Democrats: Dudley Friend Adle Jr. and Roger “Cotton” Smothers (I)

April 21 is the last day that first-time voters can register to vote in the primary election, which will be held May 20.
City and school board offices will also be on the ballot this year. Since those are non-partisan positions, candidates for mayor, city council, city commission and the board of education have until 4 p.m. Aug. 12 to file to run.