.....Advertisement.....
.....Advertisement.....

Girls golf gunning for region, state

-A A +A
By Jesse Osbourne

The Marion County High School girls golf team returns five of last year's top six golfers this season. This season, their sights are set higher than a region runner-up finish. This time, they want the title outright.

"We're excited about the season and about representing Marion County well," Head Coach Danny McFall said. "Every practice and every match is to get ready for the region."

McFall enters his third season at the helm. His previous two seasons have ended with state tournament berths for an individual and for the team.

Last season, the Lady Knights finished 21st out of 22 teams, missing the cut for the second round of play.

McFall is confident in a strong season for the Lady Knights.

"I think we'll be contenders in the region this year," he said. "We have a very strong team coming back, very strong. They're all veterans."

Leading the way is McFall's daughter, senior Hayley Abell. Abell is officially St. Catharine College bound, set to receive a golf scholarship for next season.

She'll likely have to get back into the swing of things as she spent the last five weeks at Murray State University for the Governor's Scholars program.

"She's been playing all weekend," he said. "She's hitting the ball really, really good. After a few games she'll get into her competitive mode and will be hitting the ball great."

McFall's top five will include Abell, Amy Brown, Olivia Carrico, Taylor Howard and Brianna Reynolds.

The coach said that right now Abell and Brown are shooting in the low 80's while Carrico is hanging around the mid 80's. Howard is shooting in the high 80's while Reynolds is hovering around 100.

"She'll get a lot better as she goes, she just needs more experience," McFall said of Reynolds. "She's looked good in practice."

The Lady Knights will compete in three tournaments this season including the Joy Invitational at Wild Turkey Trace, the Pulaski Invitational and the Kentucky Invitational Tournament (KIT) at Lakewood.

"We struggled last year at the KIT," McFall said. "I don't know if the girls got nervous or what, but we're hoping for a better showing."

The Lady Knights opened their season Monday against Washington County. They host Casey County at Rosewood Golf Course on Thursday at 4 p.m.

Marion County Girls 2010 Golf Schedule

Date Day Opponent Site of Match

Aug. 2 Monday Washington Co. Lincoln Homestead

Aug. 5 Thursday Casey County Rosewood GC

Aug. 9 Monday Casey County Hickory Hill CC

Aug. 12 Thursday Green County Rosewood GC

Aug. 14 Saturday Pulaski Inv. Somerset GC

Aug. 17 Tuesday Adair County Rosewood GC

Aug. 23 Monday Washington Co. Rosewood GC

Aug. 24 Tuesday Campbellsville Campbellsville CC

Aug. 26 Thursday Green County Green Co. CC

Aug. 28 Saturday KIT Lakewood GC

Aug. 30 Monday Nelson County Rosewood GC

Sept. 2 Thursday Adair County Pinewood CC

Sept. 11 Saturday Joy Inv. Wild Turkey Trace

Sept. 13 Monday Heartland Conf.Rosewood GC

Sept. 21 Tuesday Nelson County Woodlawn CC

Sept. 28 Monday Regionals Elizabethtown CC

Oct. 4-6 Mon-Wed State Tourney Bowling Green CC