Knights fall to Indians

-A A +A

Two Knights named to all-district, all-tourney teams

By Casey Sowers
Sports correspondent


On May 19, the fourth-seeded Marion County Knights lost to the number one seed, the Adair County Indians, 3-1, in the 20th District tournament at Dave Hourigan Field.
The Knights took an early lead when Andrew Spalding crossed home in the top of the third inning. Marion County held the lead until the Indians stepped up to score two runs in the bottom of the third inning.
Again, neither team scored until Adair County added one more run in the bottom of the sixth inning to advance to the championship game.
“Unfortunately, we couldn’t scratch a couple more runs across,” Coach Patrick Campbell said.
Marion County’s Robbie Spalding and Satchel Spalding were named All-District players, and Satchel Spalding and Andrew Spalding received All-District Tournament honors.
“Robbie, Satchel and Andrew were very deserving of the awards they received. Satchel threw a great game and gave us an opportunity by keeping the game close,” Campbell said.

Marion Co. 001 000 0 - 1 4 3
Adair Co.   002 001 X - 3 6 0

On May 20 the Taylor County Cardinals defeated the Campbellsville Eagles, 5-4, in 10 innings in the other first round district match-up.
In the bottom of the seventh inning, the Cardinals were down 4-1, but they rallied for three runs to force extra innings.
In the bottom of the 10th inning, the Cardinals loaded the bases with no outs when Daniel Carney drove in the game-winning run.

C’ville       200 000 200 0 - 4 5 0
Taylor Co.  000 001 300 1 - 5 9 3

In the 20th District championship game at the Dave Hourigan Field between top-seeded Adair County defeated the number two seed, Taylor County, 8-0.
The Indians scored four runs by the fourth inning to take control, then addedfour more runs by the sixth inning to take home the district title.

Taylor Co. 000 000 0 - 0 1 5
Adair Co.  013 211 X - 8 9 1

Taylor County had three players named to the All-District Team, Daniel Carney, Seth King, and Tyler Franklin.
Adair County had five players to the All-District Team, Zach Hutchison, Taylor Willis, Tristen Beard, Jacob Pooler, and Dusty Todd.
Both teams advanced to the 5th Region Tournament at Nelson County High School.