Six running for U.S. Senate seat

-A A +A

Two school board races will be contested

By Stephen Lega

Barring a slew of write-in candidates, Marion County voters will only be casting ballots in a handful of contested races this fall.
Election day is Nov. 4. Marion County voters will be selecting two members of the Marion County Board of Education and three members of the Marion County Soil and Water Conservation Commission. They also have the opportunity to vote for State Representative, U.S. Congressman and U.S. Senator.
The Senate race now includes three candidates on the ballot and three write-in candidates.
Incumbent Republican Sen. Mitch McConnell, the Senate minority leader, is seeking re-election. Democratic Secretary of State Alison Lundergan Grimes is his most well known challenger.
Libertarian candidate David Patterson, who is a police officer, added his name to the list of candidates whose name will appear on the ballot.
Mike Haggard of Richmond, Robert Edward Ransdell of Florence and Shawna Sterling of Sharpsburg have registered as write-in candidates in the senate race.
The U.S. Congressional race in Kentucky’s First District is a rematch of the race from 2012. Incumbent Republican Congressman Ed Whitfield of Hopkinsville is running against Democratic challenger Charles Kendall Hatchett of Benton.
In the state legislature, Democratic incumbent State Rep. Terry Mills of Lebanon will be facing Republican challenger J. Alex LaRue of Hodgenville in the 24th District race.
In Marion County, the District 2 and 3 seats on the school board are on the ballot.
In District 2, Angela Carter and Kaelin Reed, both of Lebanon, are running for the seat vacated by Michael Mullins earlier this year (see related story).
In District 3, incumbent Butch Cecil of Lebanon is facing a challenge from Dennis Hagan of Loretto.
The final local contested race is for the soil conservation district, where four candidates have filed for three supervisor seats. The candidates are Dudley Friend Adle Jr. of Raywick, Joe Bernard Luckett of Lebanon, Joseph Richard “Dickie” Nally of Loretto and Don Veatch of Finley. Luckett, Nally and Veatch are incumbent supervisors.

Raywick is one candidate short
All city offices are scheduled to be on the ballot again this year, but only three candidates filed for the four Raywick City Commission seats.
Ronnie Lamkin, John Louis Morris and Alvin Morris.
Deputy County Clerk Chad Mattingly, who is running unopposed for the county clerk’s seat, contacted the state board of elections about the empty seat.
If no one files as a write-in candidate for the Raywick City Commission, then the newly election commissioners would have 30 days after they are sworn in on Jan. 1 to appoint someone to fill the vacant seat. If the commission doesn’t appoint someone, then the governor will make that appointment.

Final deadlines
Write-in candidates still have until 4 p.m. Oct. 24 to file.
Eligible citizens have until Oct. 6 to register to vote in the November election.

Here are the candidates who have filed (an “I” indicates an incumbent):

Federal offices
• U.S. Senate: Alison Lundergan Grimes (Democrat), Mitch McConnell (Republican, I), David M. Patterson (Libertarian), Mike Maggard (write-in), Robert Edward Ransdell (write-in) and Shawna Sterling (write-in)
• U.S. Representative, First District: Charles Kendall Hatchett (Democrat), Ed Whitfield (Republican, I).

State offices
• Senate, District 14: Jimmy Higdon (Republican, I)
• House of Representatives, District 24: Terry Mills (Democrat, I), J. Alex LaRue (Republican)
Judicial seats
• Court of Appeals, 3rd District, 1st division: Michael O. Caperton (I), Debra Hembree Lambert
• Court of Appeals, 3rd District, 2nd division: Paul F. Henderson, James H. Lambert (I)
• Circuit Judge, 11th District, 1st division: Samuel Todd Spalding
• Circuit Judge, 11th District, 2nd division: Allan Ray Bertram (I)
• District Judge, 11th District, 1st Division: Amy Sullivan Anderson (I)
• District Judge, 11th District, 2nd Division: Connie Sullivan Phillips (I)

County offices
• County Judge: David Daugherty (Democrat), Doug Mattingly (write-in)
• Jailer: Barry Brady (Democrat, I)
• Sheriff: Jimmy Clements (Democrat, I)
• County Clerk: Chad Mattingly (Democrat)
• Coroner: James R. Moraja Sr. (Democrat, I)
• County Attorney: Lisa Nally-Martin (Democrat)
• PVA: Terry “Catfish” Rakes (Democrat, I)
• Magistrates: District 1 Jackie Wicker (Democrat, I), District 2 Larry V. Caldwell (Democrat, I), District 3 Craig Bishop (Democrat), District 4 Steve Masterson (Democrat, I), District 5 John Arthur Elder III (Democrat, I)
• Soil and Water Commission (three seats are up for election): Dudley Friend Adle Jr., Joe Bernard Luckett, Don Veatch, Joseph Richard "Dickie" Nally

Board of Education
• District 2: Angela Marie Carter, Kaelin Reed
• District 3: Butch Cecil (I), Dennis Hagan
City offices
 • Bradfordsville: Mayor: David Edelen; city commission (four seats): Anthony Clarkson (I), Sandy Gribbins (I), Travis May (I) and Mildred Kathleen Walls (I).
• Lebanon: Mayor: Gary Crenshaw (I); city council (six seats) Jerry Abell (I), Jay Grundy (I), John R. Mattingly (I), Kate Palagi (I), Jim Richardson (I), Darin Spalding (I)
• Loretto: Mayor: Tom Brahm; city commissioner (four seats): Josh Ballard, Connie Mattingly (I), Sammy Medley (I), Lennie Nally (I)
• Raywick: Mayor: Kelly Lucas; city commission (four seats): Ronnie Lamkin, John Louis Morris (I) and Alvin Morris (I).