• Benedict is Outstanding Program Graduate

    Vanessa Benedict of Marion County was selected as the 2013 Outstanding Program Graduate of the Practical Nursing program at Bluegrass Community and Technical College (BCTC).
    Faculty members select one student from each BCTC program as an Outstanding Program Graduate. The distinction recognizes students who have exhibited strong leadership, exceeded criteria and expectations in their degree program, and demonstrated academic excellence.
    The recipients were honored at the BCTC graduation ceremony held May 12, 2013 at the Kentucky Horse Park Alltech Arena.

  • Local students receive degrees

    Nearly 30 from Marion County received degrees from St. Catharine College

  • Students named to spring dean’s list

    The following Western Kentucky University students from the Marion County area were named to the Dean’s and President’s lists for the spring 2013 semester. Full-time undergraduate students with a semester grade-point average of 3.4 to 3.79 are named to the Dean’s List. Students with a GPA of 3.8 to 4.0 are named to the President’s List. Their names are marked with an asterisk (*). The entire list can be found at http://www.wku.edu/mediarelations/deanslist.php

  • Burdette, Heck receive scholarships
  • Local students pinned from Carver School of Social Work and Counseling

    Dr. Darlene Eastridge, dean, opened the Carver School of Social Work and Counseling pinning ceremonies on May 3.
    “God has blessed Campbellsville University with the largest number of graduates in the history of the Carver School,” Eastridge said, “and very high caliber students in all three of our locations -- Louisville, Campbellsville and Somerset Centers.”
    Local students who were pinned include Sarah Elizabeth Culver graduating with a bachelor of social work and Myra Lanham Howard graduating with a master of social work, both of Lebanon.

  • Superintendent search committee in the works

    The formation of the Superintendent Search Screening Committee is almost complete. The minority nominee will be announced June 3 after ballots have been counted.
    As of right now, the committee consists of the following individuals:
    - Ed Hacker: Board representative
    - Hope Dougherty: Parent representative (West Marion Elementary School)
    - Cathy Sparrow: Classified representative
    - Sarah Martin: Teacher representative (Glasscock Elementary School)
    - Amanda Farmer: Teacher representative (St. Charles Middle School)

  • Hamilton returns as St. A principal

    A familiar face is returning to a former position at St. Augustine School.
    Sugar Hamilton, who previously served as principal from 1982-94, is back in that office, at least for next year.
    Hamilton said things have changed in the 19 years since she last held that seat.
    “I’m re-educating myself,” she said.
    Hamilton replaces outgoing principal Alicia Riggs, who served as the St. Augustine principal for the last four years.

  • 4-H sewing classes model fashions they created
  • Lebanon Middle School students visit the Capitol
  • Art Camp is set for July 8-12

    “Kentucky Heritage “ is the theme for this year’s Arts Camp, a special project of the Marion County Arts and Humanities Council, and held with the assistance of the Marion County Family Resource Centers and the Marion County Extension Office. This is their seventh annual camp.
    This year’s camp will be held the week of July 8-12, at Lebanon Elementary School and the Marion County Extension Office. Classes will be held daily from 9:30 a.m. to 1 p.m., with lunch provided.