• Young earns degree
  • Begley honored at banquet


    Leanna Begley was recently honored at the Dean’s List Banquet at Lindsey Wilson College. Begley attained the president’s list in the Spring 2011 semester and the dean’s list in the Fall 2011 semester. She is a junior accounting major and is the daughter of Merle and Linda Begley and a 2010 graduate of Marion County High School.

  • President’s, dean’s list announced

    St. Catharine College recently announced the list of students who have achieved extraordinary academic success for the Spring 2012 semester. The President’s List includes all students who had a perfect 4.0 grade point average. The following students were recognized for their academic achievement: David Bell, Michael Carey and Caroline Thomas, all of Lebanon, Derek Cissell and Jill Mattingly, both of Loretto, and Adrienne Leigh of Bradfordsville.

  • Academy named ‘Best High School’

    The Gatton Academy of Mathematics and Science in Kentucky at Western Kentucky University has been named America’s Best High School by Newsweek magazine.
    Tyler Clark of Raywick graduated from the Gatton Academy in 2008 and Anna Gabrielle Hamilton is enrolled in classes and is scheduled to graduate in 2013. To date, the Gatton Academy has admitted students from 107 of Kentucky’s 120 counties.
    More information about the Gatton Academy is available online at http://www.wku.edu/academy.

  • Coffman named to dean’s list

    Casey County High School graduate and Transylvania University first-year student Nicole Coffman has been named to the dean’s list for the 2012 winter term.
    To be named to the dean’s list, a student must achieve at least a 3.5 grade point average during the term.
    Coffman is the daughter of Gayle and Walter Coffman of Bradfordsville.

  • Awards are handed out for 2011-12 school year

    Glascock Elementary School Awardees are:

  • St. Joseph Montessori graduates
  • 6-6-12 Honor Rolls

    The following Calvary Elementary School students achieved recognition for the fourth nine weeks of the 2011-12 school year.
    First honor roll

  • Marion County chapter to present Verda Calhoun Scholarship to Whitlock

    The Marion County Chapter of the NAACP will present its first Verda M. Calhoun Scholarship Award to a deserving student next month. The award is being made in memory of the organization’s late president who succumbed to cancer in 2010. Calhoun was the chapter president for 22 years, a civil rights advocate and health care professional for many years.
    The first scholarship recipient is Morgan Whitlock of Marion County High School. In the fall, Whitlock will be attending Western Kentucky University, where she will be majoring in the business aspects of agriculture.

  • Local students graduate

    Local students graduated at the 189th commencement ceremony at Centre College held on May 20.
    William George of Lebanon received a bachelor of science degree in psychology. He is the son of Charles and Mary Rose George of Lebanon.
    Max Manning of Lebanon received bachelor of science degrees in economics and psychology. He is the son of Dr. and Mrs. Curtis Manning of Lebanon.
    Dave Whitlock of Lebanon received a bachelor of arts degree in history. He is the son of David and Lori Whitlock of Lebanon.