• ECTC president’s, dean’s lists announced

    Elizabethtown Community and Technical College has announced the names of students who made the dean’s list and the president’s honor list for fall 2015 Semester. The president’s honor list is awarded to full-time and part-time students who are eligible based on the following criteria:
    Full-time degree-seeking students earning a 4.0 grade point average and successfully completing at least 12 hours of course work for the academic term, excluding developmental courses, are included in the full-time student president’s honor list.

  • Debbie Gardner Memorial Scholarship available for Marion County students

    The Debbie Gardner Memorial Scholarship is available to graduating high school seniors and GED recipients in Marion County.
    This scholarship can be used to assist with tuition while attending a four-year college, a two-year college, or a technical school.
    Anyone applying for this scholarship must first meet the federal low-income guidelines.  Preference will be given to graduating seniors or GED recipients going into the fields of social services, business, agriculture, or education. Students’ grade point average will also be taken into consideration.

  • Glasscock academic team wins championship


  • Calvary receives $2,500 grant

    Calvary Elementary is pleased to announce the acceptance of a grant given by Ritchie Lee through the America’s Farmer Grow Communities Nonprofit Organization. The grant amount of $2,500 will go towards the purchase of technology for the students. This technology will be used throughout the grade levels to enhance learning and student engagement as we search to provide a 21st century education.

  • Hardin earns degree

    Elizabeth P. Hardin of Lebanon received her Bachelor of Science degree from Western Kentucky University during their December 2015 Commencement Ceremonies.

  • Campbellsville University's dean’s list announced

    The academic honors’ dean’s list for the fall 2015 semester has been announced by Dr. Donna Hedgepath, Campbellsville University’s vice president for academic affairs.
    The following local students have been named to Campbellsville University’s Dean’s List for fall 2015:
    Kelli Hogan Evans, a junior, from Bradfordsville; Amelia Rachelle Bradshaw, a senior; Laura Beth Buckman, a senior; Lindsey Mae Buckman, a freshman; Jacob Tolbert Burdette, a junior; Rebecca Carolyn Evans, a freshman; and Brooke Nicole Gordon, a junior, all from Lebanon.

  • Students participating in virtual classroom
  • Pep rally was held for junior class before taking ACT test


    On Monday, Feb. 29, the day before the ACT test was given to juniors at Marion County High School, the MCHS staff created a pep rally to pump up the junior class. The event was organized by Kim Hardin and Laurie Followell. The response from students and teachers was great. Many students said it was the best pep rally they had ever attended.

  • MCHS SBDM Council election is March 18

    Marion County High School will have a parent election for the school site base council from 8 a.m. until 5 p.m. on Friday, March 18, in the high school foyer. To be a candidate you must have a child enrolled at the high school for the 2016-17 school year.  Nominations are due to the school secretary in the school office no later than 3 p.m. on March 16. (Nomination forms were sent home with each student.)

  • A nickel for new schools

    The Marion County Board of Education could be voting on the “recallable nickel” at the end of this month.
    District II Board Member Kaelin Reed sent a written request to both Marion County Superintendent Taylora Schlosser and Board Chairman Mike Cecil on Wednesday, Feb. 24, asking for the following item to be placed on the board’s agenda for its March 10 meeting:

    A resolution to advise the public that the Board intends to seek a tax rate that’s in excess of the 4 percent increase authorized by KRS 160.470(10).