Two running for county judge

-A A +A

First candidate files for county clerk

By Stephen Lega

Douglas Lee Mattingly of McElroy Pike was the first candidate to throw his hat in the ring in the 2014 race for Marion County judge/executive, and now he has some competition. David Daugherty of Loretto Road has also filed to run. Both candidates are running in the Democratic primary.
Also, Chad Mattingly of Country Club Drive is the first candidate to file for Marion County Clerk.
And three of the five incumbent magistrates will have challengers in the primary election.
Here are the candidates who have filed so far, according to the Kentucky Secretary of State’s website and the Marion County Clerk's Office. An (I) indicates the candidate is an incumbent.
The deadline to file for the primary — 4 p.m. Jan. 28 — was after the Enterprise went to press. Any additions will be updated on the Enterprise website.

Federal and state offices
• U.S. Senate – Republicans: Matt Bevin of Louisville, James Bradley Copas of Lexington, Mitch McConnell (I) of Louisville, Chris Payne of Salvisa, and Shawna Sterling of Sharpsburg; Democrats: Burrel Charles Farnsley of Louisville, Alison Lundergan Grimes of Lexington, Gregory Brent Leichty of Louisville and Tom Recktenwald of Louisville
Gurley L. Martin of Owensboro who had filed to run as a Republican has withdrawn his candidacy.
• U.S. Representative, First District — Republican: Ed Whitfield (I) of Hopkinsville; Democrat: Wesley Seaton Bolin of Murray and Charles Kendall Hatchett of Benton
• 14th District State Senator – Republican: Jimmy Higdon (I) of Lebanon
• 24th District State Representative – Republican: Amber Rogers Dones of Hodgenville, J. Alex Larue of Hodgenville and Richard Treitz of Greensburg; Democrats: Terry Mills (I) of Lebanon
Voters may remember that the state legislature approved new districts last year. Under the new plan, the 24th District includes Marion, LaRue and Green counties.

Judicial offices
• Third District Court of Appeals, First Division – Michael O. Caperton (I) of London and Debra Hembree Lambert of Mt. Vernon
• Third District Court of Appeals, Second Division – Paul F. Henderson of Somerset and James H. Lambert (I) of Mt. Vernon
• 11th Judicial District Circuit Court, First Division – Tim Cocanougher of Springfield and Samuel Todd Spalding of Lebanon
• 11th Judicial District Circuit Court, Second Division – Allan Ray Bertram (I) of Campbellsville
• 11th Judicial District, District Court, First Division – Amy Sullivan Anderson (I) of Campbellsville
• 11th Judicial District, District Court, Second Division – Connie Sullivan Phillips (I) of Campbellsville

County offices
• Marion County Judge/Executive — Democrat: David Daugherty and Douglas Lee Mattingly.
• Marion County Attorney - Lisa K. Nally-Martin
• Marion County Jailer – Democrat: Barry Brady (I)
• Marion County Sheriff – Democrat: Jimmy Clements (I)
• Marion County PVA – Democrat: Terry “Catfish” Rakes (I)
• Marion County Clerk: Democrat: Chad G. Mattingly
• Marion County Coroner - Democrat: James R. Moraja Sr. (I)
• Marion County magistrate, first district – Democrat: Bobby A. Hardin Jr., Monty Ray Mullins, and Jackie Wicker (I) *
• Marion County magistrate, second district – Democrat: Larry V. Caldwell (I) *
• Marion County magistrate, third district – Democrat: Dudley Friend Adle Jr., Craig Allen Bishop and Roger “Cotton” Smothers (I)
• Marion County magistrates, fourth district – Democrat: Steve Masterson (I)
• Marion County magistrates, fifth district - Democrat: John Arthur Elder III (I)
April 21 is the last day that first-time voters can register to vote in the primary election, which will be held May 20.
City and school board offices will also be on the ballot this year. Since those are non-partisan positions, candidates for mayor, city council, city commission and the board of education have until 4 p.m. Aug. 12 to file to run.

* The Secretary of State's website lists Chris Todd as running in the first district and Anthony Tony Preece as running in the third district, but Preece and Todd both live in Inez, which is in Martin County.