• Registration begins March 5

    Marion County High School invites parents and students to attend their grade level registration night. Registration night will be held in the MCHS cafeteria. You will receive important information about scheduling for next year along with discussing different programs that are offered at the high school and the area technology center.
    Registration dates and times are:
    • Ninth grade (current eighth graders) registration night is Thursday, March 5, 6-7 p.m.
    • Twelfth grade (current 11th graders) registration night is Monday, March 9, 6-7 p.m.

  • 3-4-15 Writing Spotlight


  • Marion County schools to return to regular bus routes

    Marion County Superintendent Taylora Schlosser sent the following announcemen on Wednesday afternoon:

    For the remainder of this week, providing  that there are no issues, MCPS will use the regular bus routes unless the bus driver notifies the student that his/her road cannot be accessed.

  • Jurassic World 3-D comes to GES


  • MCHS has a stellar year at Beta Convention

    Marion County High School’s Beta Club brought home numerous awards from the recent state Beta Convention, which was held on Jan. 25-27, in Louisville. This year, there were more than 2,100 participants at the convention. This was also the third straight win for MCHS for one of the only three state officer positions.
    The following is the list of the winners:
    • Leah Thompson was elected State Beta President.
    • Curt Spalding is the out-going State Beta Vice-President and presided over a session of the convention.

  • Calvary will host District Governor’s Cup

    On Feb. 28, four local schools will gather to take part in the 54th District Governor’s Cup Competition, an academic event sponsored by the Kentucky Association for Academic Competition. Participating schools are: Glasscock Elementary, West Marion Elementary, Lebanon Elementary, and Calvary Elementary Schools.
    Governor’s Cup features eight events, including the Quick Recall event, which is the only one open to the public. Quick Recall begins at 11 a.m.

  • Marion County Area Technology Center Students of the Month
  • Students inducted into honor society

    The following students will be inducted into the 2014-15 St. Charles Middle School National Honor Society:
    • Sixth grade - Kristin Ballard, Landon Cambron, and Samual Thompson.
    • Seventh grade - Taylor Ballard, Mattie Bartley, LeeAnn Jones, Eli Nelson, and Kristin Thomas.
    • Eighth grade - Marley Allender, Sierra Bickett, Elise Carpenter, Mariella Curtis, Callie Elder, Mya Emmons, Alyssa Followay, Cassidy Logsdon, and Abby Scott.

  • Lee makes dean’s list

    In recognition of her academic performance, the Office of the Vice President for Academic Affairs has announced that Tina Lee of Loretto has been named to the University of the Cumberlands’ (UC) Dean’s List for the 2014 fall semester.
    To be eligible, students must have achieved a grade of “A” in convocation while maintaining a minimum cumulative scholastic standing of 3.50.

  • Gribbins and Roeder paged for Sen. Jimmy Higdon