• Makes president’s list
  • Local students make dean’s, president’s lists

    Elizabethtown Community and Technical College has announced the names of students who made the dean’s list and the president’s honor list for the fall 2010 semester. The president’s honor list is awarded to full-time and part-time students who are eligible based on the following criteria:
    Full-time degree-seeking students earning a 4.0 grade point average and successfully completing at least 12 hours of course work for the academic term, excluding developmental courses, are included in the full-time student president’s honor list.

  • Rodriguez is recipient of sonography scholarship

    By Jim Earls
    Special to the Enterprise
    Frances Rodriguez, a second-year cardiac sonography student at St. Catharine College, has been selected to receive a highly sought-after scholarship award from the American Society of Echocardiography (ASE), the only professional society dedicated to the field of echocardiography. The Alan D. Waggoner Student Sonographer Scholarship was established in 2001 in recognition of the many achievements, as well as dedicated service, of Waggoner to the ASE and to thousands of cardiac sonographers throughout the world.

  • Tech center recognizes students of the month for February


  • Black is recognized by health occupations students
  • A class act

    Editor's note: This is the first of a series of stories about the Marion County Chamber of Commerce's 2010 Outstanding award winners.

    When Tammy Newton would visit her oncologist, he would often ask her how her kids were doing. Without missing a beat, Tammy would begin talking about the kids in her third grade classroom at West Marion Elementary School. However, her doctor was actually inquiring about her children, not her students.

  • MCHS principal search underway

    The Marion County High School Site-Based Decision Making Council has renewed its search for a principal.

    A notice was posted on the Kentucky Department of Education website Feb. 2. Chris Brady, the interim principal and the chairman of the council, said the notice must be posted for at least 30 days.

    "It will be at least a month or two before anything big happens," he said.

  • Board of education recognizes newly National Board Certified teachers
  • Drug testing proposal given another shot

    Shelton Young and Jayne Hogan, members of the Marion County Safe Community Coalition, made a proposal to the Marion County Board of Education in April of last year to begin random student drug testing at Marion County High School. At that time, then-Superintendent Donald Smith said that he would make a recommendation concerning the student drug-testing program at the April 27 board meeting.

    That never happened.

  • Honor rolls

    The following students earned recognition for the second nine weeks at Calvary Elementary School.
    • Primary: Brooklynne Bland, Christina Brady, Katie Beth Brady, Kayla Brady, Zachary Brady, Toni Grace Caldwell, Avery Cochran, Asha Dudgeon Grace Farmer, Luke Glasscock, Dakota Gribbins, Hannah Lanham, Michael Ryan Masterson, Katie Mattingly, Emma Milburn, Mason Sullivan, Carly Jo Thomas, Cade Thompson and Audrey Wise.